Sir Alimuddin is being awarded the 2020 Mahathir Science Award in recognition of his exceptional, globally-acknowledged, health-policy relevant research, capacity development and advocacy contributions to the understanding of the epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment, and control of Tuberculosis, other respiratory tract infections and emerging pathogens with epidemic potential.

The group of Professor Hugh Possingham, Professor Kerrie Wilson and Professor Erik Meijaard is chosen as the winner of 2016 Mahathir Science Award for being the global leaders in sustainable natural resource planning and management. Through collaborations with government and other stakeholders, the nominees have had a significant impact on threatened species management, fire policy, and terrestrial and marine reserve design.

Full name:   Professor Dr Rita Colwell  Date of Birth:   23 November 1934 Affiliations (at the time of the award):   Distinguished Professor at the University of Maryland, USA Field:   Marine Microbiology/Bacteriology/ Oceanography/Genetics Summary of body of work recognised by MSA:   Professor Dr Rita Colwell is being considered for the 2015 Mahathir Science…

Academician Prof. Emeritus Tan Sri Dr. Omar Abdul Rahman FASc
Academician Tan Sri Dato’ lr (Dr) Hj Ahmad Zaidee Laidin FASc
Academician Tan Sri Datuk Dr Yusof Basiron FASc
Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir P.S.M
Academician Datuk Dr Abdul Aziz Sheikh Ab. Kadir FASc